Acquiring your CNA certification in Alaska can be a quick kick-start for a successful career in the field of nursing. Being certified means that your name is registered on the Alaska Nurse Aide Registry, and you are eligible to practice in any clinic, care center, long-term hospital or other nursing facilities. But before obtaining a nursing assistant license, you will have to meet all the requisites of the program and exam put forward by the state.
20% Off Scrubs & Other Brands You Love!
Offer Ends 5/31Save Now
1. By Examination
All aspirants are required to meet any one of the following eligibility criteria to obtain CNA license by examination:
2. By Endorsement
All the applicants must meet all the following requirements in order to become eligible for obtaining the license by endorsement:
Step 1: Download the examination application using the following link:
Step 2: Paste a 2” x 2” recent passport photograph on the page 2 of the application form with your signature and date on the backside of the photograph.
Step 3: Submit examination fee by including money order or check of $260 (or $265 if taking oral exam) made payable to the “State of Alaska”. If any other entity (other than you) is paying your fee at a later date, you will be required to provide a copy of the purchase order or voucher completed by the respective party or entity.
Step 4: Fill all the details of Section I of the “Verification of Program for the Alaska Nurse Aide Registry” application. After filling in all the essential details, submit the form to your nursing facility or school from where you had completed your program course. Request the facility or school to fill in the required details and return it directly to the Alaska CNA Registry.
Step 5: Provide a fingerprint card (FD-258) with the applicant’s fingerprints and all the necessary details required by the Department of Public Safety for criminal history background check.
Step 6: After completing all the required details, submit the signed and notarized application along with the documents to the following address:
Nurse Aide Registry
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
To obtain CNA certification by endorsement in the state, you must follow the given procedure:
Step 1: Download the endorsement application using the following link:
Step 2: Follow steps 2 to 6 as mentioned in the “procedure to obtain CNA licensure in AK by examination” section. Besides, you also need to complete Section I of the “Verification of Credentials for Alaska Nurse Aide Registry” form. After filling the essential details, mail the application to the nurse aide registry where you were licensed initially and to your current state of certification.
Step 3: Upon approval of all the documents and application, notification regarding the status of your application will be sent to you in approximately 2 weeks, after your completed endorsement form is received.
All certified nurse assistants are required to renew their license in every 2 even-numbered years, without taking into account of when it was issued. The license expires on March 31st of every even-numbered year. The notice regarding the expiration of the certificate is mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date.
Continuing Competency Requirements for Renewal
For each renewal period, you are required to meet the following continued competency requirements:
Method to Renew Your CNA License
To renew your certificate, download the renewal application using the following link:
To reinstate a license that has been lapsed for more than 1 year and less than five years, applicants must fulfill the following requirements:
Download the reinstatement application using the below link:
Question 1 – What fee is charged if I want to renew my license?
Answer – Your renewal fee is $100 if your license number is between 1 and 13590 and $50 if your license number is 13591 and higher.
Question 2 – Can I do Continuing Education if I have not worked as a CNA?
Answer – No. If your certification number lies between 1 and 13590, you need to complete both the CE as well as show your work experience as a CNA. This is not valid unless you appeared for the state CNA certifying exam between 4/1/2012 and 3/31/2014. The CNA exam of this state is almost similar to the one you took initially to get certified.
Question 3 – What to do if I don’t remember my certification number?
Answer – If you don’t remember your certification number, you can find it on the following link: